The American University of Myanmar consists of faculties of Humanities, Natural Sciences, the Professions and Social Sciences. Faculties are headed by a faculty chairman or chairwoman. To foster interdisciplinary interactions and collegiality, there are no academic departments. Faculty members hold appointment in at least one faculty, and students are admitted to study in at least one faculty. Although degree programs are usually housed within a single faculty, courses for a degree program may be offered by another faculty.